

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING: M I N U T E S

# Devon Local Optical Committee Annual General Meeting Thursday 12<sup>th</sup> May 2022, 7pm Meeting via Zoom

Venue: Zoom

Present: Charles Bill, Daniel Tabb, Elizabeth Cave, Ian Berry, Ian Holten, Jenny Cooper,

Leanne Smewing, Luisa Simo, Max Halford, Michael Beavis, Peter Noakes, Ross Colledge, Simon Brooks, Sophie Withers, Steve McCluskey and Winnie Maina.

Apologies: Fiona Hiscox, Emma Hill, Kym Balcomb, Deborah Bill and Roxanne Saunders

**Chair:** Max Halford

#### Welcome

Max Halford welcomed everyone to the 2021 Devon LOC AGM and introduced the AGM guest speakers – Helen Harms from Vision Care for Homeless People

# **Vision Care for Homeless People – Helen Harms (Manager for Volunteer Operations)**

Helen introduced herself and the work of Vision Care for Homeless People (VCHP) Helen then showed a short film clip about VCHP.

The aim/vision is to have VCHP clinics in every city in the UK.

Helen Harms made the following points:

- Homeless 227,000 people at the end of 2021
  - O Devon has 1,500 people at the end of 2021
  - South West 8,000
  - Exeter and North Devon have the highest population of homeless people
- 14.2% have longstanding eye problems
- 1/3 are entitled to NHS eyecare
- More optometrists are needed in Exeter VCHP- contact Helen for more details (<u>helen.harms@vchp.org.uk</u>)

Fundraising opportunities were also mentioned

For more information and support: <a href="https://www.visioncarecharity.org/">https://www.visioncarecharity.org/</a>

# Apologies for absence and Minutes of the last meeting

Jonathan Drew also welcomed everyone to the AGM

Apologies for absence listed above

No comments were received on the minutes of the 2021 AGM – therefore the minutes were taken as an accurate representation of the meeting and sign off formally at the AGM.

Agreement of the 2021 AGM minutes:

Proposed by: Luisa Simo

Seconded by: Leanne Smewing

All present agreed the minutes with no abstentions



## Jonathan then handed over to Max Halford for the Chairman's report

## Chairman's report

Max delivered the Chair's report for 2021/21



Chair's report -Devon LOC AGM 2022

Max at this point announced his intention to step down as Chair of Devon LOC and thanked the committee for their support over the years as Chair.

Max then handed over to Daniel Tabb for the treasurers report

# **Treasurer's report – Daniel Tabb**

See Treasurer's report here:



Treasurer's Report 2021-2022.pdf

Daniel gave an overview of the accounts for the past two years (2021/22).

#### Adoption of accounts for 2021/22

See accounts here:



Devon LOC Accounts Summary 202122.pdf

Treasurer's report and accounts were distributed prior to the AGM- the treasurer presented the accounts to the committee for adoption.

Proposed by: Ian Holten Seconded by: Luisa Simo

All present agreed the LOC accounts for 2021/22 with no abstentions

# <u>Honorarium</u>

It was decided, by the committee, that the Honorarium should remain unchanged from previous years for 2021/22, generating the following:

- Chairman £1,661.00
- Vice-Chairman £357.00
- Treasurer £1,329.00
- Secretary £357.00

The Honoraria was proposed by Ian Holten and Seconded by Leanne Smewing. All present



agreed with no abstentions.

#### **LOC Statutory Levy**

A discussion followed regarding the statutory levy for the next 12 months. LOC levy is fixed at a maximum of 2%. The committee works hard to keep costs to a minimum whilst providing the best possible service to local contractors and performers.

It was proposed that the levy will remain at a maximum of 2% until reserves back to 6 months of working capital in the Devon LOC accounts.

Proposer: Steve McCluskey

Seconder: Ian Holten

All agreed with no abstentions

#### LOCSU levy payment

Vote adopt the LOCSU levy at 0.5%

Committee have been supporting LOCSU for a number of years LOCSU help support LOCs and lobby nationally on our behalf

**Proposer: Leanne Smewing** 

Seconder: Luisa Simo

All agreed with no abstentions

Jonathan Drew thanked Daniel Tabb for the Treasurers Report

At this point Jonathan Drew formally thanked Max Halford for this time as Chair of Devon LOC.

#### **Written Questions**

No written questions were received prior to the AGM

# Outcome of the committee nominations/ voting and confirmation of the committee for 2021/22

It is encouraging to see several people putting their name forward to join the LOC this year.

Committee members voted in this year as part of the election process are:

Ian Berry, Charles Bill, Jenny Cooper, Max Halford and Sophie Withers

They will join the other committee members which are:

Ian Holten, Simon Brooks, Steve McCluskey, Peter Noakes, Luisa Simo, Daniel Tabb and Leanne Smewing.

Max thanked those who stood for election this year.

# **Closing remarks**

Max thanked the committee, and the LOC team for their support during the year and welcomed the new committee members.

# **Date of next Devon LOC AGM**

May 2023 (Date to be confirmed)

